Yu Jordy Fu’s cloud – my Sunday afternoon distraction

IMG_3332

The connecting bridge between Gaysorn Plaza shopping mall and the skytrain skywalk lures visitors with whimsical designs. Definitely distracted me from my original objective to get to Big C grocery store as quickly as possible.

IMG_3342

Soon after I hung out at the usually almost deserted Gaysorn shopping mall, taking pictures of the sculpture that is suspended in the atrium of the mall.

IMG_3339

Yu Jordy Fu is a Chinese artist who was also a TED speaker and is the CEO and Creative Director at M&J, a design company in London with offices in Bangkok and Shanghai. She creates works of art that speak of love, passion and happiness. This is certainly how I felt when I saw her installation at the mall. It stopped me in my tracks and took me on a memory trip.

download

The sculpture reminded me of Fuchur, the dragon, in The Never Ending story by Michael Ende, which I read several times when I was little.

Fuchur

Yu Jordi combined intricate techniques with 3D technology creating this 250-meter unique sculpture and light feature. The white laser-cut aluminum cloud is versatile and shows Yu Jordi Fu’s love for design and art.

Yu Jordy Fu elephant

She also participated in the elephant parade with a fantastical elephant creature representing the beauty and complex natural ecosystem of Thailand.

One thought on “Yu Jordy Fu’s cloud – my Sunday afternoon distraction

What do you think?

